Saburi Lexington Jazz NYC

Live Jazz by Miki Yoshitake at Saburi

 

(Dec 29, 2011 ) I went to Saburi last evening, 168 Lexington Ave. (between 30TH and 31ST), with wonderful food brought out to customers on nicely presented plates, and live music .

They had live jazz by Miki Yoshitake, who actually is not only a wonderful singer but an arranger. There was an artist, Amy, painting oils near the jazz band as they played, adding much to the poetry of this small restaurant, like a haiku.

Here is a promo for an earlier date

Miki and Amy at Saburi:

Miki

I can’t say anything about the food other then the fact that several fellow customers surrounding me at the bar ordered up dishes, mosly japanese cooked dishes, that looked so wonderful. I had already eaten much sashimi at Umi Japanese Restaurant (owned by a chef from Fuzhou, China who trained in Japan for years), so when I stumbled upon Saburi I was only able to take beer, part of their very nice selection of drinks, that includes wines of the Japanese variety .

The staff is mostly from Japan, and the atmoshere is very relaxing in a small comfortable space with tables to sit at. Japanese themed decor.

It is so unfortunate that they only have live jazz two times every month, but I was very fortunate to have stumbled upon this place during one of those evenings.

Find the menu on their website.

留下评论